My first blog…

… and I have to write about a blood clot? Perhaps I’d be more inspired if I were a haematologist…

By Anne Weston, LRI, CRUK, Wellcome Images

Perhaps this is more my thing.

I like the clever addition of colour, though, in the first image. How did they do that?

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My first blog…

  1. elenalondon says:

    @Steve: what is the image you linked out to?

  2. stevemca says:

    A scanning EM of a glomerulus, the bit of the kidney that my research is focused on. Far prettier!

  3. Jo Brodie says:

    Haha 🙂 Well you start off quite well by asking a question I suppose!

    I’d like to know a bit more about the first picture – I think I picked up from someone else’s blog that Anne cut herself, stuck a plaster on and then decided to take a snap of it. I don’t know if she did it to test the technique or if she’s specifically interested in blood cell imaging – ie was it for fun or research?

    Either way, what is it we’re seeing? I tend to associate ‘blood clot’ with things like deep vein thrombosis rather than the normal skin-healing processes. Readers might be quite curious about the technique, and what it’s for.

    I see she works at a place funded by Cancer Research UK – would a blood clot from someone with leukaemia look any different? (I’ve no idea, but how is this technique being used in cancer research?)

    Good question about the colouring method too – I wonder if there’s a b/w image available for comparison.

    Nice glomerulus – hopefully that’s the topic of your second post 🙂

    Best wishes,
    Jo

Leave a Reply

